Wednesday, 5 April 2017

5 Stages of Detachment

Spiritual Awakening begins with Detachment .

Meaning of Detachment

Detachment means separation, the absence of attachment. When a person controls his senses and maintains an unshakable balance of life then he is detached from the worldly behavior. A detached person will not get affected by any situation, but witness it as a third person. He separates himself from the situation and did not get emotionally involved in it but act on it for peace. He will neither be too happy nor be in so much sorrow. He maintains a state of equipoise and sees everything as a play of consciousness.

Detachment vs Sensitivity

People confuse detachment with insensitivity. Sensitivity tells about presence of humanity in one person. Over sensitive people glide into depression because of bad times and fly high in on the 9th cloud due to one happy incident. On other hand, an insensitive person is so self-involved that he did not care about others and took inhuman ways for self-achievements. A detached person is sensitive for the issues for sure but never carried away in happiness or grief of the situation. His equipoise will not get disturbed by any outer activity. But he is sensitive about the issues which require concern and work on them with sound mind. He is emotionally strong and independent. As he is not related to any one view, he can clearly see the situation and able to do the right action as solution. Detached person works for all. They see humanity. They are not inclined towards any religion or person. They see the supreme in everybody and live for the true purpose of human birth.

spiritual awakening

The great Patanjali, cataloged 5 successive stages and degrees of Detachment that one passes through on the way to the goal of complete transformation of one’s self- and- world experience.

Detachment and renunciation are the virtues which are hard to develop but they are the milestones of the spiritual path.

World is not the cause of sorrow but attachment.


Where in one continues making attempts not to indulge in sensuous enjoyments. Efforts are being made to rein in habits of sense indulgence. We all have experiences of trying to break a habit like smoking, or controlling what and how often we eat. Often the number of times we fail and the sense of effort we experience make us forget to value the fact that efforts are being made.
This effort is a definite stage of detachment.

The stage explains the step of acceptance for the things which leads to their renunciation. It is very important to accept and acknowledge your mistake to improve it. In the similar way, it is very important to acknowledge the attachment to get detached from that specific thing. Unawareness is the state, most of the people are living with, they did not know, that they are limited by their own attachments. Awareness is the first step towards detachment.


This stage is reached when attachment to same things has disappeared altogether and it has been weakened in respect to others. Therefore a spirit of renunciation is partially maintained. Such a person is fairly well-disciplined in his enjoyment of senses.

In this stage, you started your journey of detachment via renunciation few things, feelings or actions. It can be anything which you see as an obstacle in your spiritual growth. If a bird always gets attached to his nest, he will never able to enjoy the free dive in sky. The fear of losing home will always stop the bird to taste the bliss of flying. Attachments lead to fear. Similarly, your attachments to the worldly life and things bound you to the temporary nature. You have fear to lose those things, which actually are not yours. Beyond the field of fear, your journey starts of spiritual awakening.

Meaning of Renunciation

Renunciation is abandonment; you leave certain actions, feelings, things for some reason. Your senses are controlling you and making you slave. You are entangling in your desires and needs but happiness resides beyond the slavery of wants. Giving is the nature of happiness. Leaving anger, expectations, needs and desires, then you can move ahead towards the self, where you are beyond senses. Renunciation is the great virtue which supports the spiritual beliefs.


This stage is reached when the senses – sight, touch, smell, taste and hearing are completely weakened from compulsive attraction and aversion toward objects and the tendency toward attachment remains only in the mind.
Thus, for example you may periodically think about food in old ways, but there is not enough energy in these thoughts to prompt the senses to action. 


Renunciation proper is called vashikara, one who attains vashikara no longer has to control his tendency toward attachment.
Both his mind and his senses naturally remain aloof from focusing on worldly objects.

Here you have taken control on your senses. You can live a life of discipline.


Supreme, unshakable detachment. It is a state of perfect equal vision and unconditional love. Paravairagya, or the highest detachment, and unadulterated knowledge of the Purusha – principle (the self) are inseparable. Only by the mean kaivalya or liberation in the shape of complete cessation of the mind, is attainable.

Discipline of the senses is required to turn inward and understand the self. One can attain an inner world by detaching from the outer world. 


Post a Comment